*UPDATE: the State of Disaster has been extended for 48 hours more, ahead of hot, windy weather conditions this weekend.*

A State of Disaster has been declared for the following parts of Victoria:

  • East Gippsland Shire
  • Mansfield Shire
  • Wellington Shire
  • Wangaratta Rural Shire
  • Towong Shire
  • Alpine Shire
  • Mount Buller Alpine Resort
  • Mount Hotham Alpine Resort
  • Mount Stirling Alpine Resort
  • Falls Creek Alpine Resort

This declaration gives the Government the powers and resources it needs to keep Victorians safe at this unprecedented time.

People in these areas must follow advice from emergency services. People in the potential impact areas in East Gippsland and North East should leave if it is safe to do so. Evacuation is underway in some areas in North East.

Do not travel into these areas.

For the latest warnings and updates visit www.emergency.vic.gov.au

A map of the potential impact area and local government areas included in the state of disaster is at: https://www.emergency.vic.gov.au/news-and-media/state-of-disaster-local-government-areas

VPSC acknowledges the important and challenging work that our Victorian public sector colleagues and volunteers are doing to keep people safe and to support evacuation and recovery.