Departments are established and abolished through an Order in Council made under section 10 of the Public Administration Act 2004.

These are the current departments:

  • Department of Education and Training
  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Department of Families, Fairness and Housing
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions
  • Department of Justice and Community Safety
  • Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Department of Transport
  • Department of Treasury and Finance

Administrative Offices

Administrative Offices are established and abolished through orders under section 11 of the Public Administration Act and each is established in relation to a department.

The following are the current administrative offices at 27 October 2022.

  • COVID-19 Quarantine Victoria
  • Invest Victoria
  • Latrobe Valley Authority
  • Local Government Inspectorate
  • Major Transport Infrastructure Authority
  • Office of Projects Victoria
  • Office of the Chief Parliamentary Counsel
  • Office of the Governor
  • Office of the Victorian Government Architect
  • Public Record Office Victoria
  • Safer Care Victoria: the Office for Safety and Quality Improvement
  • Service Victoria
  • Victorian Government Solicitor’s Office
  • Victorian Skills Authority

Persons with Functions of Public Service Body Head

Persons other than heads of departments and administrative offices with the functions of a public service body head in relation to employees are listed in section 16 of the Public Administration Act.

This list may be supplemented by orders made under section 16(3) and published in the orders section of this register, or by reference in other establishing legislation.

The following are the offices and authorities led by a person designated to have the functions of a public service body head that employ staff as at 27 October 2022.

  • CenITex
  • Cladding Safety Victoria
  • Commission for Children and Young People
  • Court Services Victoria
  • Emergency Services Superannuation Board
  • Environment Protection Authority
  • Essential Services Commission
  • Family Violence Prevention Agency (Respect Victoria)
  • Game Management Authority
  • Independent Broad-based Anti Corruption Commission (IBAC)
  • Infrastructure Victoria
  • Labour Hire Licensing Authority
  • Office of Public Prosecutions
  • Office of the Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability
  • Office of the Legal Services Commissioner
  • Office of the Ombudsman Victoria
  • Office of the Road Safety Camera Commissioner
  • Office of the Special Investigator
  • Office of the Victorian Electoral Commission
  • Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner
  • Office of the Victorian Inspectorate
  • Portable Long Service Leave Benefits Authority
  • Safe Transport Victoria
  • Suburban Rail Loop Authority
  • Victoria Police (for Public Service staff)
  • Victorian Auditor General’s Office
  • Victorian Disability Worker Commission
  • Victorian Gambling and Casino Control Commission
  • Victorian Environmental Water Holder
  • Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission
  • Victorian Fisheries Authority
  • Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation
  • Wage Inspectorate Victoria

Victorian Public Sector Commission

Section 37(1) of Public Administration Act establishes the Victorian Public Sector Commission (VPSC) and section 4 defines VPSC as a public service body.

For further information about the Victorian Public Sector Commission, see Part 4 of the Public Administration Act.

Public entities

Public entities are defined in section 5 of the Public Administration Act. An Order in Council under section 5(2) or (3) may determine application of that definition in relation to a particular body or class of body.

Public entities include statutory authorities, state owned enterprises, state owned corporations and formally constituted advisory boards. At July 2018 there were 3,462 public entities. Around half employ staff and the vast majority comprise volunteer members.

For further information on public entity boards and their membership visit Public Board Appointments Victoria or see Chapter 4 of the Statistical Compendium to the State of the Public Sector in Victoria Report 2017-18.

For further information about departments, offices and authorities, and public entities see the State of the Public Sector in Victoria Report 2017-18 Appendix 1.

Special Bodies

Special Bodies are defined in section 6 of the Public Administration Act and created under separate legislation. To date, no instruments have been made under section 6 of the Public Administration Act to amend the number of special bodies.

Section 6 lists the following entities as Special Bodies.

  • A department of the Parliament of Victoria
  • The Commission for Children and Young People
  • Electoral Boundaries Commission
  • Independent Broad-based Anti-corruption Commission
  • Mental Health Complaints Commissioner
  • Mental Health Tribunal
  • Office of the Health Complaints Commissioner
  • Office of the Ombudsman
  • Office of the Victims of Crime Commissioner
  • Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner
  • Victoria Police
  • Victorian Auditor-General’s Office
  • Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT)
  • Victorian Electoral Commission
  • Victorian Independent Remuneration Tribunal (the Tribunal)
  • The Victorian Inspectorate

For further information about special bodies, see section 6 of the Public Administration Act.