During the 2022-23 reporting period, the Commission was overseen by the Minister for Government Services, Hon Danny Pearson MP. The Minister for Government Services oversees the public sector, cyber security and citizen digital transaction reform.

As at 2 October 2023, the Premier of Victoria has responsibility for the Commission.


Brigid Monagle – from April 2023

Brigid Monagle is the Commissioner of the Victorian Public Sector Commission. Brigid commenced as Victorian Public Sector Commissioner in April 2023.

Before being appointed Commissioner, Brigid acted as Secretary for the Department of Families, Fairness and Housing (DFFH) and before that was the department’s Associate Secretary. Prior, Brigid held various Deputy Secretary roles in DFFH from its formation in February 2021. The roles included leading the Readiness, Response and Emergency Management Division, which was responsible for working to minimise the impact of emergencies on Victorians, including the COVID-19 health emergency. In the second half of 2020, Brigid was seconded to serve as Deputy Secretary, Public Health Policy and Strategy, within the former Department of Health and Human Services, supporting the emergency response of COVID-19.

In 2018, Brigid established and led the Fairer Victoria Division as Deputy Secretary in the Department of Premier and Cabinet (DPC). Fairer Victoria supported the Multicultural Affairs, Equality, Youth, Veterans, Senior Victorians, Women and Prevention of Family Violence portfolios.

Prior to this, Brigid was an Executive Director at DPC, leading advice in the areas of Aboriginal Affairs Policy, including the formation of Treaty Authority legislation and self-determination, health policy and reform, and inter-governmental strategy.

Brigid previously held various roles at DPC and spent some years working at The Treasury in New Zealand. She holds a Masters of Public Policy from Victoria University of Wellington and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of Melbourne.

Greg Wilson – acting from October 2022 to March 2023

Greg Wilson was the Acting Commissioner of the Victorian Public Sector Commissioner. He joined the Commission in October 2022 and departed in March 2023.

He worked for many years as a senior public servant in the Victorian Public Service and broader public sector, including as Secretary of the then Department of Justice and Regulation.

Prior to that he held roles of Secretary of the Department of Sustainability and Environment, Deputy Secretary (Policy and Cabinet) at the Department of Premier and Cabinet, Deputy Secretary (Water Sector) at the Department of Sustainability and Environment, and General Manager (Regulatory Policy) at the Essential Services Commission.

Greg has led wide-ranging reforms across the justice, environment, water and treasury portfolios in Victoria. He led the establishment of the Royal Commission into Victoria’s Mental Health System. He also chairs several public sector boards including the Transport Accident Commission (TAC), State Emergency Services (SES) and the Country Fire Authority (CFA)

Greg is a Fellow on the Institute of Public Administration Australia Victorian branch (IPAA) and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Adam Fennessy – until September 2022

Adam Fennessy PSM was the Commissioner of the Victorian Public Sector Commission. He joined the Commission in July 2020 and departed in September 2022.

Adam has over 20 years of public sector experience at state and federal levels, including 4 years as Secretary of the Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning and prior to that the Department of Environment and Primary Industries. Adam has worked in the private sector as a partner with advisory firm Ernst & Young. Adam has served on several boards including the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA Victoria), Infrastructure Victoria, Monash Sustainable Development Institute and Women & Leadership Australia.

In 2018, Adam received a public service medal for leadership in the Victorian public sector.

Deputy Commissioner

Ella McPherson is the Deputy Commissioner of the Victorian Public Sector Commission. She joined the Commission in November 2021 and was Acting Commissioner from 17 September to 25 October 2022.

Following an early career in journalism and consulting, she has more than 15 years experience in the Victorian Public Service, during which time she has worked across a wide range of portfolios and agencies including: youth affairs, community development, business and innovation, the Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission, health and human services, education and infrastructure.

Ella held senior roles in communications, change strategy, executive and ministerial services and knowledge management, before taking on the role of Chief Operating Officer for the Victorian School Building Authority. Her last role before joining the Commission was Assistant Deputy Secretary, Schools and Regional Service and COVID-19 Commander for the Department of Education and Training. She has Masters qualifications in Communications, Business Administration and Law.